The Whitchurch Society


The Whitchurch Society AGM was held on May 12th 2021. After many years of excellent service, Richard Williams had retired as Treasurer and John Bradon was appointed to that role. The roles will be reviewed and votes held again at next year’s AGM (expected to be in May 2022).
The committee comprises:

Laura Lucas, Chairman
Will Barclay, Secretary
John Bradon, Treasurer
Sarah Hanfrey


The Society coordinates and takes financial responsibility for several regular events:

·         Two seasonal walks (New Year’s Day and in the Spring) organised by a group including Mike Scott, Roger Crawford and Richard Harris.

·         The Garden Walk in June (an open gardens event followed by tea), organised by Laura Lucas and Will Barclay with a team of helpers. For 2020, photos were invited and an online display was created. To see it, click on the Gardens 2020 tab at the top of the Photos page. No event was held in 2021.

·         The Art & Craft Exhibition in November, organised by Sally Woolhouse with a team of helpers. 


The Society was founded some 40 years ago.  One of its original functions was the review of planning applications. Opinions were solicited and comments submitted on behalf of the village.  However, village residents now have their say individually on the SODC webpage, or by post, and this function is no longer active.  Also, there used to be a small annual subscription for membership of the Society but for many years now the principle has been adopted that all village residents are automatically members without any subscription.

Whitchurch Award

A community award was introduced in 2019, jointly by the Whitchurch Society and the Whitchurch Web. The Whitchurch Award will be made annually to give recognition and thanks to one or more village residents who have given exceptional voluntary service to the community.  Nominations are invited in advance from village residents. A short list is then drawn up by the Whitchurch Society committee and the final choice is made by the chairman of the parish council

At the Parish Assembly in May 2019 the first award was presented by the chairman of the parish council to Eric Hartley, The Henley Standard published this article about the winner.

At the Parish Assembly in 2020, held online, the second annual award was presented jointly to Sally and Peter Woolhouse. The Henley Standard again published an article.

At the Parish Assembly in 2021, again held online, the Whitchurch Award was presented to the Whitchurch Web team for their work in developing and maintaining the village website over the last ten years. The Henley Standard again published an article.


Any queries should be directed to . Offers to help with any of the society’s events would be appreciated.


Page updated January 2022












Photos by Nick Brazil